Thank you, Claude Debussy.

Claude Debussy first wrote Claire de lune in 1888 when he was 26 years old. It is an amazing song and of course, when he first wrote it, it was not in the final version that is in today. What I wonder about is how he felt, what he was thinking when he decided to write that song. I mean there is some known history on what inspired him. That’s the thing, there is always something that inspires us and makes things in our minds spark and create something beautiful of our own.  But, what else was there? When he wrote it, what else did it make him think of?

I think about music all the time and I let myself get engrossed in everything it is about. Sometimes I find the answers to my most difficult dilemmas when I’m listening to music. I listen, let it move me, read and research it and want more. Often I can’t wait for what else I’ll discover and what other questions or answers I’ll get from it. If ever I need inspiration it is music I turn to. I have tons of playlists with titles such as Bubbling Bliss, Happiness not mine, Tonight or Other, Strong and Soothing and on and on. Each title is significant. They hold a little a piece of how I felt at the moment on that day.

I think I wrote the majority of my Master’s thesis to my classical music playlist. Claire de lune was played many times over and over and I know exactly how I was sitting and which parts I wrote whenever that song came on. My literature review, I’d like to say, was written in great part by Claude Debussy and his composition Claire de lune. I don’t think I could have done it without him. Thank you, Claire de lune for making the day of my thesis defense and turning 26 an incredible experience.

Leave a Reply

